Why I Overuse “Love”

Love Means More

Some people hate the word “love.” They feel it is overused, making it meaningless. I disagree. While I am aware that some people use it mistakenly, I would rather err that way than have someone feel they aren’t appreciated.
Anyone who spends almost any kind of time with me will know that I have to express my feelings to everyone, personally and individually. I recognize that this makes people uncomfortable. It makes me feel uncomfortable. But a little discomfort is worth it if even for one moment, people can realize a fraction of their worth.
If the word “love” bothers you, choose a different word. I usually tell my roommates that I appreciate them. At first they felt awkward. But now they accept it and appreciate it when I express my feelings towards them.
When asked how she felt when I started expressing my feelings for her, my roommate Riley said she felt really weird about it. It was kind of an “Okay? Weird…” kind of thing. But over time, she noticed I would say it when she really needed it. On days she didn’t feel very loved or important. While it was just a small gesture, it helped her get through the day. “I started to realize love isn’t just something between married people, but can be between friends. Love means more than romance.”

The Least of These

Everyone deserves to feel cared about. Everyone is cared about. We all share one Heavenly Father, a glorified brother (Jesus Christ), and we are all made up of the same spirit stuff, each of us being created in the image of God before we were born.
Many of God’s children feel alone. And they shouldn’t. We have a responsibility, as carriers of this knowledge, to help everyone feel loved.
Joshua 1:9 reads: “Have not I commanded thee? Be strong and of a good courage; be not afraid, neither be thou dismayed: for the Lord thy God is with thee whithersoever thou goest.”
This seems like a steep promise. How can God be with us always, no matter where we are or what we do? Well, often he supports us through other people. In order for Him to do that, some of us need to be willing to listen to promptings from the Spirit and be attentive to those around us. Some people are too distanced from the Spirit (for whatever reason), that they can’t feel God’s love through the Holy Ghost. But that doesn’t mean God doesn’t want them to feel loved.
We need to stop with the “us v them” mentality. Why do we have to avoid eye contact with people? When did we start to dehumanize people who are different from us?
Every person deserves to be treated kindly. Christians, Muslims, Atheists. Homeless people, rich people, and everyone in between.

Love is kind.

I love you. Whoever you are. That isn’t an exaggeration. I’m not saying it just to feed your confidence. I’m not saying it out of obligation. There are few people I hate in the world, and even then, my heart can’t help but be compassionate. You don’t know what someone struggles with. You don’t know what their past is. Thank goodness God hasn’t left it up to us to judge that, because I’m certain we would all get it wrong.
Jesus Christ gave His life because He loves us. He wasn’t told to. He didn’t do it grudgingly. It was hard–an agony none of us can imagine–but He followed through. For you. For me. For your annoying neighbor.
Err on the side of compassion. The Lord has said, “Inasmuch as ye have done it unto one of the least of these my brethren, ye have done it unto me.” (Matthew 25:40)
The good we do. The bad we do. We do it all unto Him.
Remember to always reach out and lift the weary. Love everyone who crosses your path. I promise you it will only make you a happier person. If this task seems impossible to you, pray for the enabling power of the Atonement to work within you. God can work mighty miracles within you if you let him.
#spreadlovenothate
Leave a Reply

