True Freedom

“Some people feel that the commandments are burdensome and that they limit freedom and personal growth. But the Savior taught that true freedom comes only from following Him: “If ye continue in my word, then are ye my disciples indeed; and ye shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free” (John 8:31–32). God gives commandments for our benefit. They are loving instructions for our happiness and for our physical and spiritual well-being.” – LDS Topics

One of the most important things for preparing and being a missionary is obedience. Obedience keeps us free to use our agency, which seems like a weird concept to some people. Think of it this way: if you break the Word of Wisdom by getting drunk, you are breaking a commandment. Being drunk impairs your ability to reason, thus taking away your agency.

The times I have been most happy in my life are when I have lived my life in accordance to the commandments and modern revelation. There was a time in my life where I wanted to rebel against the standards, just for the sake of rebelling. I have never been so unhappy in my life. After repenting and following the words of the prophets, I had joy in my life again. Obedience is true freedom.

“If ye love me, keep my commandments” John 14:15


How has obedience blessed your life?

Leave a Reply

