Voice of His Servants

 What I the Lord have spoken, I have spoken, and I excuse not myself; and though the heavens and the earth pass away, my word shall not pass away, but shall all be fulfilled, whether by mine own voice or by the voice of my servants, it is the same. – Doctrine and Covenants 1:38

General Conference is here! Conference is a great time to receive revelation. Whether you are preparing to serve a mission, are a student, or just need some answers, conference is a perfect time to ask your questions.

Only one day into conference, I have already received answers to questions that I had. I wanted to know how strong my testimony needed to be in order to serve a mission. This was answered immediately in the first talk of the Saturday Morning session in a talk given by President Dieter F. Uchtdorf of the First Presidency.

He was speaking about why some people may feel that their membership in the LDS Church is not as fulfilling as they had hoped. He proceeded to give several points on why that may be. “Are we making our discipleship too complicated?” he said. This resonated with my soul. Of course I was enough. I believe that God is the father of our spirits, and Jesus Christ is his son. I believe that Joseph Smith restored Christ’s gospel on the earth in our day. I know that the Book of Mormon is the word of God.

The LDS Church provides examples to questions asked and answered during conference on their Web page. An example follows:

How do I find peace?

“My brothers and sisters, in our lives we will have temptations; we will have trials and challenges. As we go to the temple, as we remember the covenants we make there, we will be better able to overcome those temptations and bear our trials. In the temple we can find peace.” -Thomas S. Monson

For more examples, click here.

For finding answers to your own questions, the LDS Church provides a few suggestions on their LDS Youth Web page.

  1. Make a list of questions you want insight to
  2. Ponder to gain insight during conference
  3. Study scriptures that relate to your questions

While you are watching conference, be sure to be alert and awake. Have writing materials close by so that you can record your promptings.

I know that this has worked well in my own life, and I know if you seek earnestly and do your part that you will be inspired during conference.


What questions will you be praying about during conference?

Leave a Reply

