That Which Was Lost

Hi, friends! It has only been, you know, 90ish days since my last post…better late than never, right? Which is so true about a lot of things, P.S.. More on that later. For now, quick update: this summer has been great!…incredibly stressful and mildly awful, but great! Very busy, but hopefully I’m back in the blogging business.

What man of you, having an hundred sheep, if he lose one of them, doth not leave the ninety and nine in the wilderness, and go after that which is lost, until he find it? – Luke 15:4

During my off-blog time, a lot has changed. Well, not really changed, more like my life has gone in a big circle, cycling through different attitudes and my pride and such. Haha…pride cycle…never heard that before *cough* Nephites *cough*. Anyway, tangent aside, I’d decided firmly of not going on a mission. I enjoyed where I was in life, I love school and work, I love my friends, why would I leave? So with that mind-set, Satan had an “in”. The more people asked when I was going and telling me what to do with my life, the more firm I was (there is an open letter coming in the near future about that). 

Then something changed. My eyes were opened to how off course I had come, and I was afraid. Would this effect how well of a mother I will be some day? A missionary? A friend? 

And when he hath found it, he layeth it on his shoulders, rejoicing.

And when he cometh home, he calleth together his friends and neighbours, saying unto them, Rejoice with me; for I have found my sheep which was lost. -Luke 15:5-6

Luckily, God gives second chances. In my case (and everyone else’s), an eighth and nineth (million) second chances. God doesn’t see the righteous people in the world and say, “Okay, cool. I’m good with this amount. Renee slipped up again, but I can let one or two go.” No. He leaves the “ninety and nine” and goes after the one. He won’t force us to feel the Spirit. He will wait as long as it takes for us to listen, to turn around and see him with his hand outstretched, and then he will carry us back to the fold. Our loving, caring, and oh so patient Heavenly Father knows that I struggle. That is why he sent his Beloved Son, Jesus Christ, to pay for my sins (and yours) so that the demands of justice could be met, but by someone much stronger than I. Christ loves me enough to suffer for my sins, even the same ones, over and over. Why? Because, bless his heart, he knows some day I will finally get it right (even if I have a hard time having faith in myself). 

Here is where my P.S. comes in–this whole experience has brought me so much closer to God and Jesus Christ. I’ve got my own personal cheering section, and the two most powerful beings in existence are my biggest fans. I’m serving a mission, and Satan can’t stop me. I may be going later, but it is better late than never.

Where could you improve in your life? In what aspects of your life are you off the path, with the Savior waiting behind you to take your hand? (Rhetorical question this time)

Leave a Reply

